Weekend Wrap – All about the winners at the National Championships in Kaduna


The 2019 All Nigeria Championships came to an end at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna last weekend with the crowning of mostly new champions, thus laying a strong foundation for the beginning of a new era in Nigerian athletics.

The Championships which also served as trials for the forthcoming African Games and World Championships, lived up to expectation in terms of the pure talents now emerging within the shores of the country, as no foreign based athlete except Seye Ogunlewe, participated in the meet.

Here’s a lowdown on the winners that were crowned in each event, at the end of the three-days athletics showpiece.


Always the most prestigious event to vie for, coming along with the tag of Nigeria’s fastest man and woman for the year.

In this keenly contested event, Usheortise Itsekiri emerged victorious taking his first National senior title in 10.23s, with Enoch Adegoke coming in closely behind in 10.25s, while defending champion Ogunlewe, settled for 3rd in 10.27s.

His victory means he owns the two current National titles; first the 2018 National Sports Festival title and now this.

In the women’s category, Joy Udo-Gabriel convincingly won with a time of 11.58s. Surprisingly taking the Silver medal was Grace Nwokocha, clocking 11.70s while Rosemary Chukwuma, settled for the Bronze medal in 11.74s.


The winners of this event were chosen based on the fastest time produced in all the races.

Itsekiri, made sure he did the double by running the fastest time of 20.97s to win the men’s category, while rising youth sensation, Favor Ofili won the women’s event in 23.35s.


This event will probably have the highest rating, when it comes to that with the most performance at the championship.

Patience Okon-George, successfully defended her title and strengthened her name as Nigeria’s best quarter-miler in the past 5years, clocking a Nigerian leading and huge Season’s Best (SB) of 51.66s, to surpass the World Championships qualifying mark of 51.80s.

In 2nd position was ever improving Ofili, who clocked a massive Personal Best (PB) of 51.90s but was agonisingly short of the qualifying mark, with Amarachi Obi coming in a close 3rd also in an impressive PB of 52.03s.

In the men’s category, Ifeanyi Ojeli ran the second fastest time of his career to win his first National title, stopping the clock at 45.93s. Orukpe Erayokan, came up with a SB of 46.35s for 2nd and Shedrack Akpeki, running a PB of 46.54s to finish 3rd.


Continuing on his amazing season so far, Timothy Emoghene impressed again by clocking a PB of 50.45s to be crowned champion, thereby shaving off 1s from his previous best of 51.42s set last month.

Veteran Henry Okorie, settled for 2nd but with a SB of 50.59s and Destiny Oyedele, 3rd in 50.91s.

The women’s event saw Abasiono Akpan, emerge victorious in a PB of 58.02s ahead of Joy Abu and Comfort Ekanem.


Martins Ogieriakhi ran his fastest race this season clocking 14.02s for the win, ahead of pre-championship favourites Samuel Osadolor and Oyeniyi Abejoye.


Comfort James won her first title in this event, racing to victory in 2:15.03. While in the men’s event, Adebisi Sodiq was victorious in 1:51.91.


Coming back to the 1500m, James completed the double by regaining her National title from 2016, clocking 4:42.12.

Meanwhile, Soudi Hamadjam won his sixth consecutive title in this event, clocking a SB of 3:56.89.


Couple goals in this event, as Deborah Pam won her category in 17.14.41, while husband Emmanuel Gyang, did same in his clocking 14.54.71.


Kemi Francis, smashed her PB of 5454 points with a new 5517 points, to win the multi events and qualify for the African Games.




The women’s category saw Eucharia Ogbukwo, throw a SB of 14.70m to not just win but qualify for the African Games as well.


Blessing Ibukun Ibrahim, reigned supreme in this event leaping to a SB of 13.25m, far ahead of African Junior Champion, Onara Obamuwagun with 12.84m, and Mercy Honesty for a close 3rd with 12.80m.

The men’s category was won by Blessing Oluwayemi in 15.39 m.


The friendship of Esther Isa and Temitope Adesina, is definitely pushing them to greater heights , as both scaled 1.81m (SB) and 1.80m (PB) respectively, to qualify for the African Games.

Best Erhire continued on his unbeaten run this season, by winning his first National senior title scaling a PB of 2.12m, to qualify for the African Games as well.


Joseph Edafiadhe won the men’s category leaping to a distance of 7.54m, while Precious Okoronkwo, left it till her last jump to win the women’s segment in 6.05m.


Queen Obisesan continued her dominance in this event, throwing a distance of 65.19m to be crowned National Champion.


Austin Nwoye won the men’s Discus, throwing a distance of 52.94m, while Princess Kara was the victorious one in the women’s category, with a distance of 49.74m.


Samuel Kure continued his dominance in this event, by throwing a distance 74.33m to be crowned National Champion.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.